Go Back   XmodSource.com > Xmods > The XMS Repair and Modification Manual
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery iTrader Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2010, 02:03 PM
IHateMakingUserNames's Avatar
IHateMakingUserNames IHateMakingUserNames is offline
Stage 1 member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Sunshine State
Posts: 52
Trader Rating: (0)
Default Fet just fried and motor issues

My TC evo fets just fried which is surprising since it was running last night without any problem. There are a couple of things that I wasn't sure about on the motor when I checked it. The little brown tab between the two wires was broken and the little metal "wires" were touching. The only thing that was bugging me was the fact that I didn't change anything on it from when I ran it last night and it was running without any issues. So now I need to know if the issue could be caused by the "noise" rf being broken or if it was just a freak thing. I'm also now looking for a stock evo board and stock evo motor as a result lol.
__________________
Road Course '08 GT-R
Rally Scion TC (off road mods in progress)
Sharing EVO chassis for now.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2010, 03:09 PM
reaper's Avatar
reaper reaper is offline
Elite member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: sheffield UK
Posts: 360
Trader Rating: (4)
Default

by little thing
i take it you have cracked a capacitor on the motor , if this is the case and the wires were touching then thats your problem you have just put a dead short across your board

best way i can think of blowing fets
__________________
TEAM XI
I AINT NAMED REAPER COZ I CUDDLE BUNNYS !

XMS and XMF february COTM winner
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-20-2010, 05:19 PM
IHateMakingUserNames's Avatar
IHateMakingUserNames IHateMakingUserNames is offline
Stage 1 member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Sunshine State
Posts: 52
Trader Rating: (0)
Default

That's what I thought, if I could seperate the wires again, and replace the FETs do you think it would run again or will I have to get a new motor as well?
__________________
Road Course '08 GT-R
Rally Scion TC (off road mods in progress)
Sharing EVO chassis for now.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-20-2010, 05:25 PM
reaper's Avatar
reaper reaper is offline
Elite member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: sheffield UK
Posts: 360
Trader Rating: (4)
Default

it should be fine
seperate the wires and try the motor on a seperate battery just to be sure but i doubt it will have damaged the motor
__________________
TEAM XI
I AINT NAMED REAPER COZ I CUDDLE BUNNYS !

XMS and XMF february COTM winner
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-20-2010, 07:02 PM
IHateMakingUserNames's Avatar
IHateMakingUserNames IHateMakingUserNames is offline
Stage 1 member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Sunshine State
Posts: 52
Trader Rating: (0)
Default

the motor runs when the wires are seprated so once I get new FETs and the V2 chip like you suggested it should run alright and also like you said I can run a faster motor , I'll just have to watch the wires. thanks for the help.
__________________
Road Course '08 GT-R
Rally Scion TC (off road mods in progress)
Sharing EVO chassis for now.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.