PDA

View Full Version : newbie to x-mods,not rc

nitronovice
12-24-2004, 05:01 PM
I have 2 gas powerd rc cars for a while,so I have the skills to tinker with almost anything(including electronics),go to sites like www.ofna.com to see what i mean.but i only know gas powered and a bit of electric(synthesized transmiter/reciever,esc,brushes,batteries...).i don't think I'll ever get an electric car larger than 1:18 scale.i'm very new to x-mods,don't have one,plan to get one,but want to learn the terms,other than the ones I already mentioned above.I just want to get the x-mods because the HPI micro rs4,x-ray m-18,team losi mini-t,and associated rc18t are too expensive for my dad to be convinced.I know that hobby grade vehicles are an expensive hobby(I got a gas powered sedan $350,and a gas buggy(1:8)for $500).My dad says that I have cost alot to maintain($30 for 1 gallon of fuel),and the cars I mentioned above are $200-$400.so any help will be greatly appreciated.Oh,by btw,what scale are x-mods?

Sorry for the long post,I always do that in my ofna forums when i give advice.

nitronovice
12-24-2004, 05:08 PM
oh yeah,I forgot to add,I race rented rs4's at pro indoor tracks my sedan at parking lot clubs,and my buggy at pro offroad tracks(that what make the hobby so expensive).So basicly I can handle about 50km+.And I buy mini electronic and robot kits that reqiure soldering.

jpringlephoto
12-25-2004, 02:02 AM
So, OK, now that my feet are back on the floor, :)
Just kidding, I used to work for www.AHC1931.com 1987-88
Loads of fun...
Anyhow, I have purchased (12) XMODS to date.
About (6) of them with bearings, motors, etc.

I just brought three sets of motors and carbon fiber chassis.

What does it matter you ask?
The cost is not exactly cheap but the XMODS are SOOOOO Cool and encouraging...

Now I am looking at setting up one of the (3) with the lightest and fastest gear, with one car as backup. The others I will leave stock...

I LOVE XMODS...