PDA

View Full Version : Let's talk batteries here.

ling427ttvette
04-11-2009, 12:43 PM
Since I am pretty new to the 1/10 scale scene and haven't dealt much with these batteries in these bigger R/C's.. I need to know about the dis-charge part.

I have three batteries, one 1500 mAh 8.4v Ni-Cad pack, and two 4500 mAh 8.4v Ni-Mh packs.

Do either of these need to be dis-charged before re-charging to keep the batteries functioning properly?

I don't have a dis-charger, but a common trick people use is to solder a plug-in onto a car headlight and plug the battery in until the headlight quits burning, then you know you are dis-charged. Not a problem for me as I have a spare headlight.

Is there any other tips or tricks that anyone feels I should know? I don't want to buy a ton of battery packs because of some n00b mistake.

TripleXmodder(akaXXX)
04-11-2009, 01:47 PM
Uhhh, buy a charger w/ discharge .... isn't that the simple answer here?

ling427ttvette
04-11-2009, 01:52 PM
Not the answer I was looking for. I want to actually know what to do with the batteries I have, if I do need to dis-charge them or not.. I know some batteries don't require it..

And I just spent $70 on my twin-peak charger, I'm not buying another for a while because this one is doing great.

BART
04-11-2009, 02:11 PM
The Ni-cad should be discharged fully each time it is used and allowed to cool before being recharged again. The NIMH cells only need this done once every couple of months. Thats the short easy answer.

Edit: 2 1157 car tail light bulbs work great, hook them up in parallel and discharge until the light goes out and the pack cools. The best way is to monitor the packs voltage until it drops to a certain voltage per call but the above way is effective for what you are doing.

ling427ttvette
04-11-2009, 02:24 PM
Definitely the information I was looking for. Thank you.